A defensive driving course is meant to make you a defensive drive on the road – Someone who is aware of the laws and knows the ways to prevent accidents and crashes if need be. It is important to note that the requirements and norms related to defensive driving courses may vary. Here are some of the facts you need to know.
Knowing the options
More the 25 states in the US allow people to complete their defensive driving courses online. This is a huge advantage over classroom-based learning, because you can learn at your own pace. The course duration may vary from state to state, but in most cases, the norm is between four to twelve hours. Unlike classroom based learning, where you might need to complete the entire duration in one go, online courses offer the flexibility of covering the contents in installments. If you are too busy for a regular course or your state allows the online option, it is wise to consider the same. Some of the states that allow online defensive driving courses include New York, Texas, Colorado, Idaho, Kansas, Delaware, and Florida.
Before taking up courses online
There are many online course providers, but before you choose one, do your research. It’s not enough to find a cheap defensive driving course online, state & court approved for traffic ticket dismissal. Also, not all courses are approved for insurance benefits, which is something worth considering. The course should be designed in accordance to the norms and must be flexible. You may also want to check a few reviews, to know if the course provider is worth your time. Also, the concerned online source should allow you to log in your account and complete the courses as per convenience. The certificates should be offered for printing without delays.
Other aspects about defensive driving courses
You cannot take up a defensive driving course for as many times as you want. There are a few state-imposed limits in this regard. For example, in California, you can take up such courses once in every 18 months, unless and until approved by the court, while in New York, the gap should be around 36 months. To know if you qualify for such courses, you can choose to enquire with the court or DMV, or else, you may get a notice from a relevant department of your state mentioning that you qualify for these courses.
Check online to find more details on defensive driving courses!